Lymphoma Cancer Survival Rate

Despite lymphoma cancer emerging as one the more common cancers over recent years, fortunately it appears as though survival rates are continually improving. However, just like the majority of issues with the cancer, the rates have to be broken down into two sections as they vary depending on whether the patient is suffering from Hodgkin’s or non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma.

Hodgkin’s Lymphoma Survival Rate

As well as being crucial in the treatment of lymphoma, the stages that have been defined through the cancer have also been used to publish a more accurate list of survival statistics. Instead of simply issuing a standard figure, experts have instead varied their rates to give people a more realistic outlook on their condition.

The figures are based on five year rates and read like the following:

  • Stage I Patients – Patients in the first stage of Hodgkin’s lymphoma have a very high survival rate, with the average being 90%.
  • Stage II Patients – Despite the progression in stages, the survival rate remains the same at 90%.
  • Stage III Patients – There is a slight drop for Stage III sufferers, who now have a 80% survival rate.
  • Stage IV Patients – The final stage brings a large drop, with patients having a 65% average chance of surviving.

Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma Survival Rate

Experts have seemingly taken a more comprehensive approach in publishing the survival rates of non-Hodgkin's lymphoma. A method called the International Prognostic Index (IPI) was developed, which took into account various factors that would influence survival.

There are five factors in total, separated into a 'good' and 'poor' category:

  • Age – Those patients who are below 60 are classed as ‘good’, while those who are over it are defined as ‘poor’ through the index.

  • Stage of the Cancer – If a patient is in either Stage I or Stage II of the cancer, they are classed as ‘good’. A sufferer in Stage III or Stage IV on the other hand is classed as ‘poor’.

  • Location of the Lymphoma – The classification of ‘good’ is given to patients who have lymphoma in a maximum of one area outside of the lymph nodes. Those sufferers who have lymphoma in more than one organ outside of the lymph nodes are classed as ‘poor’.

  • Patient’s functionality – If a patient is able to live their life to a normal standard, they are classed as ‘good’. The ‘poor’ classification is given to those who need help with daily activities.

  • Serum LDH – If the protein Serum LDH is seen as normal, a patient will be classified as ‘good’. Those who have high levels will be given the classification of ‘poor’.

The results of this are then taken onto a further stage. For each ‘poor’ issue that a person discovers through the list, they are given one point. The points are then tallied, with conclusions then drawn from the total:

  • Low – 0 – 1 points
  • Low Intermediate – 2 points
  • High Intermediate – 3 points
  • High – 4 – 5 points

Experts have then used studies to conclude that 75% of people in the ‘Low’ category live longer than five years, while just 30% in the ‘High’ sector live that long.

Age Influences Survival Rates

Unsurprisingly, the younger sufferers of Hodgkin's lymphoma have a much better chance of beating the condition. Statistics released in the UK showed that over a five year period, those patients aged 15-49 had about 60% more chance of surviving than those aged over 70.

Similarly, sufferers of non-Hodgkin's lymphoma have more chance of surviving the condition if they are of a younger age. 65% of those aged 15-44 are expected to survive, while the rate drops to just 37% for those aged 65-74.

To Top